UWA offers Media entrance to the National Parks

Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA) has rewarded journalists who have excelled in covering conservation and tourism issues with free entrance to the national parks between September and December 2011.

The offer was announced by the UWA acting Executive Director, Dr. Andre Ggunga Seguya on September 16, 2011 during the Sustainable Tourism Media awards ceremony held at Kampala Serena

Flanked by the acting director Tourism and Business Services (DTBS) Mr. Stephen Masaba, the UWA boss also offered gorilla tracking permits to the best journalists in the print and TV category namely Gerald Tenywa of The New Vision and Craig Kadoda of NTV.

Speaking at the colorful ceremony, Dr. Seguya said “Uganda Wildlife Authority is very supportive of efforts to encourage journalists in their work, and we have over the years worked closely with various media organisations to promote tourism and wildlife management in the country.” In view of the above, Seguya added, UWA gladly offered two gorilla tracking permits and free entry to any two our national parks to the participating journalists to experience our tourism attractions first hand thereby providing visibility for the parks they visit.

The acting ED said “We have observed increased frequency of reporting on tourism –related stories both in the print and broadcast media .UWA would like to extend a special thank you to all the journalists and editors who have been instrumental in making this happen.”

At the function presided over by the minister for Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage, Professor Ephraim Kamuntu, Dr. Seguya said that UWA had recently created new biding trails, procured equipment and trained guides for Murchison Falls National Park .He also announced that the conservation body plans to launch two new gorilla groups Kahungye and Oruzogo by end of the year, the Batwa Trail in Mgahinga National Park in October And introducing Experiential Tourism.

Gerald Tenywa emerged the best in the print media followed by Titus Kakembo and Agatha Atuhairwe in third position. In the TV category, Craig Kadoda emerged the best for the second year running followed by Isabel Nakirya and Samuel Ssetumba all from NTV. In the Radio category, Ben Jumbe of KFM followed by Adela Orishaba of Radio West and Dennis Sigoa of UBC emerged the best.

Read 22562 times




Uganda Wildlife State Minister for Tourism Hon. Kiwanda Suubi has launched World Tourism Day activities at a presser at Uganda Medi… https://t.co/viIHdMUIhm
Thursday, 10 September 2020 12:56
Tuesday, 08 September 2020 19:34

Follow ugwildlife on Twitter